Bahrain drawn in Group C in AFC U17 qualifiers

Kuala Lumpur: Bahrain was drawn in Group C alongside host Oman, Iraq, Qatar, and Lebanon as the qualifying cast for the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) U17 Asian Cup Bahrain 2023 qualifiers was finalised on Tuesday.

Bahrain have already qualified as hosts of the championship and their results will not be considered during the qualifiers, AFC said.

According to the Confederation, 44 participating teams were divided into 10 centralised qualifying groups.

Six groups will feature four teams, while four other groups will include five sides. The qualifiers take place on October 1-9, 2022.

Defending champions Japan, who have won the title three times, were drawn in Group A alongside hosts Jordan, Syria, Philippines and Turkmenistan. Group B will feature hosts Indonesia, Malaysia, Palestine, Guam and UAE, AFC said.

Two-time champions Saudi Arabia - who will host Group D - were drawn alongside India, Myanmar, Maldives and Kuwait.

Group E will feature Yemen, hosts Bangladesh, Singapore and Bhutan while Vietnam will welcome Thailand, Chinese Taipei and Nepal in Group F.

China PR, winners of the tournament in 1992 and 2004, will have Cambodia, Northern Mariana Islands and three-time semi-finalists Australia - the hosts - for company in Group G. Tajikistan, runners-up in 2018, will host Afghanistan, Timor-Leste and Mongolia in Group H.

Iran, Hong Kong, hosts Kyrgyzstan and Laos were drawn in Group I while two-time winners Korea Republic will see action in Group J, which will be hosted by Uzbekistan. Brunei Darussalam and Sri Lanka complete the group.

The 10 group winners and five best second-placed teams will join Bahrain in the Finals.

Draw results:

Group A: Japan, Jordan (H), Syria, Philippines, Turkmenistan

Group B: Indonesia (H), Malaysia, Palestine, Guam, UAE

Group C: Oman (H), Iraq, Qatar, Lebanon, Bahrain

Group D: India, Saudi Arabia (H), Myanmar, Maldives, Kuwait

Group E: Yemen, Bangladesh (H), Singapore, Bhutan

Group F: Thailand, Vietnam (H), Chinese Taipei, Nepal

Group G: Australia (H), China PR, Cambodia, N. Mariana Islands

Group H: Tajikistan (H), Afghanistan, Timor-Leste, Mongolia

Group I: IR Iran, Hong Kong, Kyrgyz Republic (H), Laos

Group J: Korea Republic, Brunei Darussalam, Uzbekistan (H), Sri Lanka

Source: Bahrain News Agency

Written by